Kadjebi fails to elect Presiding Member.

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +
Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Kadjebi fails to elect Presiding Member.

The 54-Assembly members of the Kadjebi District Assembly in the Oti Region has failed to elect a Presiding Member for the Assembly.

Mr Anthony Ahiable, Assemblyman for Wawaso Electoral Area and Mr Charles Nyame Kormisah, a Government Appointee failed to garner the required two-third majority of members present.

At the first round of voting, Mr Ahiable secured 20 votes, while Mr. Kormisah garnered 31 votes, with two rejected ballots and one absentee.

At the end of the second round of voting, Mr. Kormisah had 33 votes with Mr. Ahiable getting 20 votes.

Since none had the required number, that is, at least 35 votes, there will be another vote in 10 days time.

Before the voting, Mr. Justice Odame-Frempong, Kadjebi District Electoral Officer spelt out the modalities for the election.

He said nomination would re-open in ten days if none of the Contestants had the two-third majority votes and that renders them ineligible to contest again.

Mr Cletus Chevure, Kadjebi District Co-ordinating Director told the Assembly members that a new date for the election would be communicated to them.

Mr Joseph Evans Anang Okropa, the Magistrate in-charge of Kadjebi and Nkwanta Magistrate Courts earlier administered the Official Oath and Oath of Secretary to the Assembly members and sworn them into Office.

The Kadjebi District Assembly is comprised of 36 elected Assembly members, 16 Government Appointees, DCE and the MP for Akan.

Source: GNA


About Author

Comments are closed.